Tags and Fun

TBR Spotlight: Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells

This week the random number generator gave me a relatively new book in my collection, #309, Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells!

A determined young woman sets out to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend by stealing a dragon from the corrupt emperor in this stunning fantasy debut that’s perfect for fans of Margaret Rogerson, Rae Carson, and Rachel Hartman.

Raised among the ruins of a conquered mountain nation, Maren dreams only of sharing a quiet life with her girlfriend Kaia—until the day Kaia is abducted by the Aurati, prophetic agents of the emperor, and forced to join their ranks. Desperate to save her, Maren hatches a plan to steal one of the emperor’s coveted dragons and storm the Aurati stronghold.

If Maren is to have any hope of succeeding, she must become an apprentice to the Aromatory—the emperor’s mysterious dragon trainer. But Maren is unprepared for the dangerous secrets she uncovers: rumors of a lost prince, a brewing rebellion, and a prophecy that threatens to shatter the empire itself. Not to mention the strange dreams she’s been having about a beast deep underground…

With time running out, can Maren survive long enough to rescue Kaia from impending death? Or could it be that Maren is destined for something greater than she could have ever imagined?

Look, I’m a woman of simple tastes – I see a bi heroine in a book about dragons, and I’m sold. I bought this for myself back in March as I saw the price had dipped, but I haven’t managed to make time for it yet. It seems like it’s going to be a proper adventure story, and I really like two of the three authors used as comps, so I think this should be a fun read. It’s also pretty short – short enough to fit in a #SweepUpYourSmols challenge – so hopefully I can fit this one in before the end of the year.

Have you read Shatter the Sky, or is it on your TBR?

One thought on “TBR Spotlight: Shatter the Sky by Rebecca Kim Wells

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s